Wednesday Link Love

12 Dec

Date and Walnut slice

I love mastering nostalgic recipes, ones my Mum made when I was a kid. This is one of her favourites, Date and Walnut slice and I made it for the first time this week. It’s a little chewy, a little crumby and full of big date and walnut chunks. Delicious.

110gm butter
5 tbs brown sugar
1 egg
1 cup SR Flour
1 cup walnuts
1 cup dates
Vanilla

Heat the oven to 200 degrees C and line a slice tin with baking paper. Melt the butter and add the sugar in. Cool until lukewarm. Add in the egg and beat it in rapidly in case it cooks. Add vanilla, walnuts and dates to the mix and stir. Add in flour and stir. Pop the mixture in the slice tin and cook until golden brown on top. It’s also a great one to double, according to Mum!

So on to some link love!

Phil Lees from The Last Appetite keeps an extensive list of food blogs. I can’t believe how many there are now. Do you have one that isn’t featured on the list? Let me know.

Check out the honey being harvested from The Wayside Chapel rooftop garden yesterday. Such a fabulous urban garden. While you are at it, buy a plate for $25 or $50 to support the annual Christmas party for 600 visitors.

I haven’t been feeling very Christmassy and to remedy that I started listening to Kinfolk Magazine’s annual Christmas playlist. Situation remedied.

Some fashion bloggers really look like they are living the life don’t they! Sincerely Jules is a prime example of a killer wardrobe/amazing online life. I am sure more than half her wardrobe is supplied. Sigh.

Leave a comment