Chewy hazelnut biscuits

9 Mar

hazelnut
I love anything that is based around meringue – pavlova, macarons, amaretti. I recently inherited a mixmaster (last to the party!) and have made quite a few egg white/sugar based recipes.  I saw a recipe recently for almond amaretti biscuits using almond meal and decided to give them a go. I went to the supermarket to pick up the ingredients and was shocked at how expensive good almond meal was. I understand you get what you pay for, but there was hazelnut meal right next to it for half the price so I thought I’d try that instead. It was a hit. Hazelnut is such a beautiful flavour and I actually couldn’t stop eating these little ones when they came out of the oven. They would also be lovely with a little bit of melted chocolate drizzled over them.

70g egg whites (about two decent sized eggs
190g sugar
250g hazelnut meal
Squeeze honey (about 1 tbs)

Preheat your over to 180C. Whisk the egg whites until they’re frothy then add the sugar. I do this a bit slowly. Whisk for about three minutes until the mixture is thick and white. Add the rest of the ingredients. Roll into small balls, about the size of a walnut and roll in icing sugar. Let them rest for 15 minutes (to collect their thoughts!) then cook on a lined baking tray for 12-15 minutes until they are golden and cracked.

Leave a comment