Penfolds Make Your Own Blend Session

3 Aug

Concentrating Classmate

I’m pretty interested in wine and even though I have sampled many, many wines over the years, I don’t really know how a bottle is actually blended. Cue the Penfolds Make Your Own Blend experience. On a recent trip to the Barossa region, I decided to take part in one of the classes.

Proceedings kick off with a tasting of Bin 128, a blend of Grenache, Shiraz and the lesser known Mourvedre grape. Then the idea is to blend up three versions using the grapes to your own taste, or to try and match the winemakers blend.

I decided to try and get as close to the winemakers blend as possible. Attempt one was “grassy” to say the least, but quite enjoyable, attempt two was way off and so dry I needed a big glass of water to sort myself out again. The actual winemakers blend was then revealed so I mixed that one up and voila…Bin 128! Amazing.

The Blending Bench

You then get to bottle your own to take away. I decided to bottle my first attempt, purely because I know I can buy the professionally blended Bin 138 anytime! It’s sitting at home waiting for a lovely steak to join it for dinner, but I better make it snappy before it oxidises away!

The Make Your Own Blend experience is perfect for groups but also fine by yourself, like I did. It was a very social group and we enjoyed talking about each others “interesting” attempts!

The Finished Product

The classes are run at Penfolds Barossa Valley Cellar Door. Visit www.penfolds.com.au or call the cellar door directly on (08) 8568 9408. Cost $65.

Leave a Reply

