Organicus Cafe, Manly

23 Nov

I have been spending quite a bit of time in Sydney lately, in the East and out Manly way. I recently trekked over to Manly to visit P, D + S’s new pad and we all went out for a beautiful, casual breakfast on the leafy streets of Manly. Little grommet, D, wanted to go to Organicus on Darley Rd so passionately that we couldn’t refuse.

The coffee was lovely, my breakfast of an organic field mushroom omelette with sourdough was a steal at $12 and P’s eggs and bacon with avocado smash was mouthwatering. The lemony avocado was divinely tart and is still making my mouth water as I type.



I’m not sure if you can tell from these expert* shots, but the crockery was beautiful. Before I had even contemplated starting my meal, I was feeling the earthy tactility of the plates and coffee cups. I couldn’t find any visible makers marks (maybe someone can help me out here?!) but you could tell a great deal of thought had gone in to making sure the look and feel of the crockery was in line with the rest of the cafe.

*by expert I mean, very average shots on my iPhone! No DSLR for me!

And this is where we worked off breakfast with some Hawaiian stand up paddle boarding, at Fairlight beach on the harbour. I think it’s my new obsession. It’s beginning to look a lot like summer!

One Response to “Organicus Cafe, Manly”

  1. Archie August 21, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    Don’t you hate it when crockery isn’t tactile? It was only when I started to try to drink and eat off sketches of plates and cups, clothes filthy from coffee and food, that I appreciated the importance of tactile crockery.

    Love your work!

Leave a Reply

