The Airloom: Richmond Hill Cafe & Larder

28 Jun


I must admit I was a little hesitant to go back. When I first moved to Melbourne many moons ago, I had a lovely breakfast here (Baghdad eggs with a side of chorizo for interested parties) but in the discovery of new, exciting and dare I say, more hip breakfast venues, Richmond Hill Cafe & Larder fell off my radar. An interstate friend came to visit our fair town this weekend and he was dead keen to go there. After some subtle hinting otherwise, I found myself trying to make a booking for Sunday morning. 

“Sorry we don’t take bookings for parties under 8”. Immediately I had visions of a party of eight year olds happily ordering their lattes and eggs benedict unsupervised by parents, dissecting the finer points of the Julia vs Kevin battle, ha! But the maitre’d went on to explain that if we got there early, like 9am, we wouldn’t have any trouble finding a seat. 

Apparently she meant it when she said 9am. We arrived at 9:30 and were relegated to a freezing seat on the pavement, which turned out to be a lovely blessing. It was a divine winter morning in Melbourne and, once the heaters were on, it was a lovely crisp way to enjoy our breakfast. 

My coffee wasn’t outstanding but definitely drinkable (although my second one was clearly skim, my pet hate, why tarnish a good espresso shot with dirty skim milk…pointless!). Anyway, despite the crowd inside, they were quick. 

After much discussion, I ordered ‘The Lot’ ($17.50). Wow. It was a massive mound of Dench wholegrain bread (yum!) topped with scrambled Green Eggs with grilled tomato, copious amounts of salty, crispy bacon and mushrooms. I powered through, but still came up short. The seagulls (a.k.a M, H and S) managed to help me finish. M & S ordered the avocado and fresh tomato on Dench’s sourdough with Meredith Dairy soft goat’s feta, chilli and basil ($18.50) which were absolutely massive but they were both very happy diners. H had the Dench raisin toast with whipped maple & vanilla butter ($7.50). I took a sneaky swipe of the butter and it was subtly flavoured and could probably have benefitted from a touch more maple, but I am a bit of a maple syrup fiend so probably don’t listen to that! 

All in all it was a great breakfast and I was pleasantly surprised by the food and the service. Stephanie Alexander may have moved on from here, but her name is definitely still very much connected with the place, most people believing that she still has a hand in it. The dining room inside was absolutely pumping. Even though it’s a little noisy in there, it would be a nice ‘parent’s place’, but beware the women’s toilets are up three flights of stairs so perhaps don’t take your elderly grandmother or any females on crutches! 

Richmond Hill Cafe & Larder
48-50 Bridge Road, Richmond, Victoria
(03) 9421 2808 

Image: http://www.melbourne.breakfastout.com.au

2 Responses to “The Airloom: Richmond Hill Cafe & Larder”

  1. the psychopath test jon ronson August 19, 2014 at 6:47 am #

    Very good blog! Do you have any tips for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you advise starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally confused ..
    Any recommendations? Bless you!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Wednesday Link Love « The Airloom - December 5, 2012

    […] let’s part on a recipe. I first had Baghdad Eggs at the Richmond Hill Larder, as written about here many moons ago. Man they are tasty, so here is a great recipe from Helen […]

Leave a Reply

