The Airloom: Exploring Yarraville

26 Apr

 

It seems I am the last person to discover a few things lately! Yarraville has escaped my clutches until now. I had the pleasure of meeting a friend for coffee in his hood and can I just say up front…I could live there. North of the river and all! 
So what makes it so great? We started with a little walk around the closely spaced streets. The heavens were threatening rain and the sky hung low, like a moody English day. The streets were buzzing with parents and prams, café couples and a few interesting locals! I had heard good things about the Hausfrau Bakery and Cakes so we headed there. 
 
Hausfrau Bakery Vanilla Slice

Flaky, crunch vanilla slice...heaven!

I am a sucker for a good vanilla slice so I didn’t even think about ordering anything else. Teamed with a cappuccino, the pastry was flaky and crunchy all in one with a light dusting of icing sugar and the custard melted in my mouth. The décor at Hausfrau was an eclectic mishmash of 50’s furniture, a minty green and baby pink palette, punctuated with folk art tumblers and 20th century designer chairs. 
A little bit further down Ballarat Street we came across the best second hand shop I have seen in years. Upfront I am apologising because I didn’t write down the name of it or take a card, but it’s easy to find. The prices are cheap, the collection is quirky but good quality and delivery is only $25. My friend ended up buying a stunning dining room table for only $120 and I wanted to buy the Danish three piece leather lounge suite for $380 but realised I have nowhere to put it! 

Nest of tables

Need a nest of colourful tables? $120, bargain!

Danish leather couch

The old brown couch...the Danish leather kind

Add Yarraville to your list of lovely places to explore. 

Hausfrau Bakery and Cakes
32A Ballarat St
Second hand shop
somewhere else on Ballarat St! 
One Response to “The Airloom: Exploring Yarraville”

  1. MK May 17, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    Yarraville really has come along way and it has a great atmosphere these days. You should also look at doing a piece on Seddon, which is just nearby. Lots of interesting things happening there as well.

Leave a Reply

